The Anne Frank House and Museum are located on the Prinsegracht 263/265 in Amsterdam-Centrum, the place where Anne Frank and her family went into hiding, and where she wrote her world famous diary during the Nazi occupation of Amsterdam.
The two monumental canal ring buildings on the Prinsengracht date back to 1635, and were mainly utilized for centuries by wealthy traders and small companies. In 1740 an annex was built onto the back of the house by a wealthy merchant. Two centuries after it was built, Otto Frank moved his business into the building. He was a Jewish refugee from Nazi Germany and Anne Frank's father.
On July 6, 1942 the Frank family were forced to go into hiding in the annex building because people of Jewish background were being deported to concentration camps by the Nazi military and Dutch police. the entrance to their hiding place was subsequently concealed by a bookcase door. They were soon followed by another Jewish family and an acquaintance of Otto Frank.
Sadly the families in hiding would not survive the war. They Nazis were tipped of by a still unknown source on August 4, 1944, and the annex building was raided. Otto Frank was the only one to survive and return from the Nazi death camps.
In 1960 the building was reopened as a monument to Anne Frank and Museum. Visitors can walk through the furnished rooms where Anne Frank spent her years before her deportation and tragic death in the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp.
Demand for entrance is usually very high and line-ups in front of the Anne Frank House tend to be long. It's a good idea to plan a visit an buy entrance tickets to the Museum well in advance.